News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Tom_Doak

In another thread, John Kirk notes that for music, most people's tastes tend to revolve around what was popular when they were 13-14 years old:

The Adolescent Peak In “The Songs That Bind” (New York Times, February 10, 2018), Seth Stephens-Davidowitz uses data searches he requested from Spotify to show that one’s lifetime  music tastes tend to peak at 13-14 years old.  There is some modest variance, but it’s a powerful rule of thumb.

This struck me because I think it's the age when many golf course designers really got the bug.  Personally, I started playing when I was ten, and got interested in design almost right away; but when I was 13-14, I played Pebble Beach and Pinehurst #2 for the first time.

I was wondering if this is generally true for people who are just interested in golf course design, and the DG is an excellent test group.  So, for all of you:

At what age did you first play a top-100 level golf course?

Kyle Harris

Re: A One-Question Survey on How We Got Interested in Golf Architecture
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2018, 09:27:19 AM »
15. Started the game at 13.

Huntingdon Valley.
http://kylewharris.com

Constantly blamed by 8-handicaps for their 7 missed 12-footers each round.

Thank you for changing the font of your posts. It makes them easier to scroll past.

Ira Fishman

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2018, 09:32:37 AM »
Played Yale when I was 18.  Had started playing around 13 years old.  Did not really become interested in golf course architecture though until after I resumed playing when the kids were out of the house and made first trips to Pine Needles/Mid Pines and Ireland.  I was in my mid-50s by then.

Ira

David Wuthrich

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2018, 09:36:42 AM »
Age 23

My brother and I were looking at Medical schools for him to attend and we played Pinehurst #2, The Dunes Club in Myrtle Beach and Harbour Town.