News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

DMoriarty

Re: Old Controversy About The 16th Green at North Berwick
« Reply #25 on: November 20, 2011, 02:48:34 PM »
Niall,

I am no expert on the "typical CBM Biarritz" but was more commenting on the inspiration for the original concept. As far the original concept goes, the swale or the dip was before the green, between the first plateau (the "hog's back") and the plateaued green.   I am not sure who came up with the idea that that dip or swale represented the chasm, but I don't think it was CBM.  

Some Biarritz holes play over a "chasm" or water prior to the first plateau (Yale for example) but there is no mention of a chasm in the original description, where the swale was before the green, between the first plateau (hog's back) and the green.   The first few Biarritz holes (Piping Rock and Sleepy Hollow) did not have any sort of chasm carry prior to the first hog back plateau.  (Arguably the first hole influenced by CBM's Biarritz concept was Merion's 17th and it did have a chasm/quarry, but that is another discussion.)

Interestingly, in addition to his Biarritz hole at Sleepy Hollow, CBM also built a green with a perpendicular swale bisecting the green much like many think of as a biarritz green.  But it was on a longer hole, 400 yards.  The hole apparently had a road bisecting it at about the midway point.   Given the green with the swale in the middle, does it bring to mind Hutchinson's description of the 16th at North Berwick and the "burn which often punishes a good drive?"  

Anyway, this green-with-a-perpendicular-swale at Sleepy Hollow was in addition to a Biarritz par three (with a swale before the green) and another double plateau green.  (Same thing at Merion --a double plateau, another double plateau with the swale perpendicular to the line of play, and a long par three with at least some biarritz characteristics.)