News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Brock Peyer

Quail Hollow, what do you think?
« on: May 12, 2003, 05:35:47 AM »
I have not seen nor played Quail Hollow but am curious to see if anyone has and what do you think about it.  I was only able to see about 15 minutes of the Wachovia Championship this weekend but the course and the tournament seemed to be gettting rave reviews.  I am a former Charlotte resident and I work for Wachovia and am curious to know the non-tv-spun opinion on the course and the tournament.  I did see David Toms play 18, that hole must be a bear!!!!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »

Nigel_Walton

Re: Quail Hollow, what do you think?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2003, 05:39:36 AM »
I was thinking the same thing. Also wondering if there were any reactions to the other televised course this weekend, the Belfry, which has received much negative press over the years.

John_Conley

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2003, 06:02:35 AM »
Gamez said it will be "by far the best course we'll play all year".

Riviera?  Muirfield Village?  Cog Hill 4?  Quail Hollow must be excellent.  Like you, I too was curious and asked someone from Charlotte.  He said it is great.  Evidently there was some Fazio renovation recently.

Would love to play it now that I've heard so many great things about it.  Designed in 1962, that era is somewhat of a black hole.  Even the best courses from then are crowded out by discussion of older gems and nouveau glitz.

bodgeblack

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2003, 06:03:06 AM »
Nigel,

I still cannot believe that after all the expense of the make-over at the Belfry, which undoubtedly improved the course immeasurabley that they did not address #17 tee shot!

What an awful tee-shot having to play to a fairway that is 20 yards wide and at right angles to you.

cheers

jamie

Ken_Cotner

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2003, 06:16:47 AM »