News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Max Schechter

Springdale GC (Princeton, NJ) - 15th Hole
« on: October 05, 2008, 05:13:23 PM »
Before I launch into the body of the topic, allow me to introduce myself. I am a senior at Princeton University and a co-captain of the men's golf team. I started playing at the age of 9 and spent my childhood playing at Rancho Santa Fe GC outside of San Diego, CA. Between junior tournaments and my time on the team at Princeton, I have been fortunate enough to play many of the best golf courses this nation has to offer, and a few overseas as well. As a native San Diegan, it has been great to see the tracks of the northeast, especially given their contrast in style to those in the southwest that I grew up playing.

I'd like to thank everybody on this board for their contributions to my education in the world of golf course architecture. Since my discovery of this site, I have started to look at the game in a whole new way. I hope that I will be able to contribute in some way to this board in the future.

So, without further ado, on to my desired topic of discussion - the 15th hole at Springdale GC. Springdale, the private club that sits on Princeton University property, is a short but enjoyable course crammed onto a very small site of around 100 acres. My understanding is that William Flynn was responsible for the routing, which at one point features eight parallel fairways according to an aerial view. As expected, the course features a host of charming short par fours that tempt the player to be aggressive (and consequently piss off our coach).