News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Joel_Stewart

Are architects artists?
« on: August 02, 2002, 08:34:48 AM »
Some very good posts on the Fazio thread especially for the newbies from SI.  The thread was getting long but I came away thinking about what a few people said regarding Fazio being an artist and doesn't have to listen to anyone.  I don't really agree but it makes for good discussion.

I heard an interview with John Madden yesterday (now with Monday Night Football) and he said I'm no announcer, I'm just a football coach.

Obviously Nicklaus, Weiskopf, Crenshaw, etc are golfers who fell into golf architecture.  Isn't Fazio a construction worker- foreman or golfer who fell into architecture and has some talent with design and routing?  
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »

Tom MacWood (Guest)

Re: Are architects artists?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2002, 08:42:19 AM »
Isn't golf architecture part art, part craftmanship and part science?

Brian Phillips

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2002, 09:09:49 AM »
Brad Klein's quote from his book 'Rough Meditations' on page 91 is a good way to describe modern golf courses and architecture:

'The modern golf course is a curious combination of engineering and artistry.  When it comes to drainage, for instance, the water has to run downhill.  As for growing turf, it's a matter of fitting the right grasses to the proper soil and climate.  But that's only half the achievement.  The real creativity comes when it's time to build something that's beautiful and memorable -and that functions as well.  That's why it is helpful to think about the golf course as a working landscape.'

To me an architect is an artist and more.  He or she must mould and shape the ideas of a client.  The sand a dozer works is much like the clay a conventional artist moulds for a statue.