News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Ira Fishman

What feature?
« on: January 23, 2021, 08:52:01 PM »
When trying to point out why someone should pay attention to architecture who probably has not given it much thought, what feature gets them thinking? I have found that features that affect their shots work best. Anything from a dramatic false front to a speed slot to a shoulder off a bunker that led them to miss a putt. I find it more difficult to explain the line of charm or even angles. That could because I am an amateur regarding gca or just not good at communicating abstract visuals.

Ira

JMEvensky

Re: What feature?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2021, 05:40:19 AM »
Green/bunkers relationship I think. Most people can understand the concept of angles when it's presented as "it's easier to get it TO that spot if you hit it FROM this spot".

SL_Solow

« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2021, 10:29:16 AM »
Ira,   This is an interesting topic.  I agree that angles are a good choice.  For me, I like to point out the impact that different shapes and slopes on greens have on the entire hole.  For example, our 9th hole is a relatively long par 4 with a green that has significant slope from front to back.  The following hole is shorter with a green sloping sharply from back to front.  Further along our 14th is in between in length with a reverse Redan style green (bunkering is different than a true Redan).  It's pretty easy to help other players understand how the architecture of these greens impacts play and makes it more fun and interesting.  Then we can talk about other, less obvious, features.

Kalen Braley

« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2021, 12:54:52 PM »
In my experience, its only the obvious ones like OB or water.

On more subtle stuff like if you lay it back on say a par 5 approach where you're left with a nice flat lie from 125 yards out compared to a steep side hill lie from 75 yards, they usually don't get it.

Jeff_Brauer