News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

wsmorrison

St. Louis CC: An 18 Hole Photo Essay
« on: September 04, 2007, 08:35:12 PM »
Photos from St. Louis CC

1 Green

2 Tee

3 Tee

4 Green (Road Hole)

5 Fairway (newly recovered Principal's Nose)

6 Green

7 Green

8 Fairway

9 Fairway

10 Fairway

11 Approach

12 Tee (Crater)

13 Green

14 Approach

15 Green

16 Green

17 Approach

18 Tee

Billsteele

Re:St. Louis CC: An 18 Hole Photo Essay
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2007, 08:50:12 PM »
Wayne-Great pictures. Thanks for posting. How does St. Louis compare to other Macdonald/Raynor efforts? Is the 15th a rather gentle version of a Biarritz (I was wondering if the photograph flattened out the depression in the green)?

Buck Wolter

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2007, 09:20:35 PM »
Bill-
I'm no SLCC expert but #2 is the uphill biarritz. Not sure how to describe 15 but what you see is a raised tongue in the back of the green. A very wild green -- I'd guess 100 ft deep front to the back of that shelf -- very cool when they have the pin on that shelf but tough to get close to and an easy  4 putt from the front (from personal experience).

Thanks for the photos Wayne.

Buck
Those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end, for they do so with the approval of their own conscience -- CS Lewis

wsmorrison

« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2007, 10:08:38 PM »
Bill,

The 15th is called Narrows.  It is a short uphill par 5 of 496 yards, reachable in two these days by longer hitters.  The green is narrow in the front as well as the upsloped back but it flares out on both sides in the middle.  The green depth is 44 yards.

I'm not sure when the Principal's Nose complex was put in but it isn't in an older yardage book I have nor is it on the Google Earth aerial.  I suppose it was there originally.