News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Donnie Beck

Where did you start playing?
« on: March 09, 2005, 07:31:29 PM »
The Connecticut golf post got me thinking of where I came from and where I am now. I am curious as to where everyone else on here started playing golf. I guess I started playing in my early teenage years. I started by caddying for my father when he would play, and then started beating it around the range until I could hit it well enough to play on my own. My father and uncle had an after 5pm membership at Pequot Golf Club in Connecticut and we were at the course almost daily. They had their weekly foursome that played at different clubs throughout the state each weekend so I was back to caddying on those days. My junior year of high school my cousin was playing on the golf team that played their matches at Pequot and one day superintendent John Allen asked if anyone on the golf team wanted a summer job. I my cousin wasn’t old enough at the time so he told me about it. At the time it paid very well $7 and most importantly free golf. That was it I was hooked. I started out working in the pro shop after school. I would collect the greens fee receipts on the 1st tee to make sure the league golfers had paid before they played. Once the league members were off I was free to play golf until they finished playing and then I would park the carts. On weekends I would work as a starter on the 1st tee then try to Marshall during the day. (A 16 yr. old kid truing to tell someone to speed up was a joke, but oh well it was a job).  Once school let out for the summer John asked if I was interested in working on the grounds crew. My days working in the pro shop were over. I worked through the summer and really enjoyed the work. John was a great boss. Tuesdays were slow days for us so after we finished mowing greens John would take us to other golf course to play each week. It was great to get out and see other courses. I