News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Matt_Ward

My Day at Stone Eagle
« on: May 15, 2006, 10:42:14 PM »
I have been visiting the Coachella Valley for nearly 25 years and can say candidly that I have seen a wide range of different courses and design styles there. No doubt long ago the gated community with add-on golf course has changed from ho-hum basic design to more complex and even demanding layouts (e.g. The Stadium at PGA West).

What amazes me about my time at Stone Eagle starts with the following:

*The actual site is indeed very unique -- just north of Big Horn in Palm Desert off Highway 74 -- yet so wondefully tucked away and light years beyond the 101-201 level design stuff that predominates golf in the region -- with just a few exceptions of note. Given what I was told that housing had been in the plans prior to the golf for quite some time for this site I am so thrilled a first rate golf course will now be part of the permanent landscape.

*As a corollary to that -- the housing issues are very critical to giving the golf course the feel that it has. At Stone Eagle no more than 40 residences will be built and each of them will occupy land located at the entrance to the property -- far removed from the actual layout itself which is set on much higher terrain and completely out of eye-sight until you walk beyond the practice range and practice putting / chipping green. When one often speaks about housing -- the mantra in the Coachella Valley -- generally you get homes parked right on top of any hole / green / you name it -- that's not the case at Stone Eagle and it adds considerably to the feel of playing golf there.