News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

DMoriarty

The "Provacative and Innovative" Jim Engh
« on: August 09, 2005, 02:34:23 AM »
I wrote this post after reading John Conley's thread on Engh, but decided against side-tracking his thread before it even has a chance to track.  

Let's be clear up front.  I am not fan of Jim Engh's work.  But I am no expert on Jim Engh's work either.   Not even close.  I've seen only one of his courses, once-- Black Rock-- which was heralded as his best, or at least one of his two best.  

In case you havent been paying attention, I thought Black Rock was horrid, at least when compared to the hype.  More than that, I cannot think of a single thing about the course that comes close to qualifying as 'provacative' or 'innovative.'   In fact the only thing I find the least bit provocative is the Thomas Kinkaid effect-- How could something so shallow and superficial be thought so deep and profound by so many?  

But, perhaps I am just completely missing it.  Just what is it about Jim Engh's work that is provacative or innovative?  The Hollywood Bowl greens?  The gutter fairways?  The low-road fairways, high-road cart paths? The repeated use of squiggly snake bunkers with grass faces?  The over-the-top water-features?  The marketing promise of a short-term coveted, long-term meaningless golf digest "best new _____" award?    

Maybe I am just too dense to see it.   What exactly is ground-breaking about this guy's work?  What is he doing that is lifting golf architecture to the next level?  How is he pushing the envelope even the least bit?  What makes him a leader, as opposed to just another panderer trying to make a buck?  

Help me out John C., or anyone else.  Seriously.  Give me a good reason to look again and I will, if the opportunity arises.  Tell me why I should bother to give this guy's work a second thought.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2005, 03:21:17 AM by DMoriarty »

Mike_Sweeney