News:

Welcome to the Golf Club Atlas Discussion Group!

Please note, each user is approved by the Golf Club Atlas editorial staff. For any new inquiries, please contact us and we will be in contact.

John_Conley

Economics of Rustic Canyon
« on: June 04, 2004, 04:17:13 PM »
I was able to learn a lot about Rustic Canyon by perusing the Geoff Shackleford dot com site.  My question is, "What is the ownership structure?"

I'm curious... is there an affiliated real estate project, a deep-pockets owner who doesn't care, or does it actually pay to price below market if the site yields a great course.

From what I've heard, I think I'd like the place.

For those on the east coast, check out Mike Dasher's Eagle Dunes in Sorrento (near Black Bear) if in my area.  No houses yet, and a similar concept to the course.

Thanks in advance

Mike Benham

Re:Economics of Rustic Canyon
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2004, 04:31:06 PM »
.. is there an affiliated real estate project ...

NO ...

I am no expert on Rustic (Dave M., Tommy or Shack himself could answer more specifically) but it is county owned land ...
"... and I liked the guy ..."

DMoriarty

« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2004, 04:44:23 PM »
I don't know too much about the structure, but have heard the following:

-- The land is county owned and the owner has long lease (60 yrs?)
-- The county owns to the top of the canyon walls on both so there will be no real estate in the canyon, except of course for the Brad Klein Estate houses a couple hundred yards past the 4th green.  
--  I believe the course and infrastructure were relatively inexpensive to build, compared to other courses in the area.  So they don't have to charge a fortune to make good money.  
--  I have heard that the maintenance budget is quite low, relative to courses with similar revenues.