News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Dan_Callahan

Warren Course at Notre Dame
« on: December 29, 2003, 03:26:37 PM »
I was recently in South Bend and had an opportunity to walk the Warren Golf Course at Notre Dame, a Coore and Crenshaw design. It's a great looking layout, and I hope to get back there in the spring with my clubs.

As I wandered, I was struck by the unusual decision not to list par for any of the holes. I've heard that this is done at Muirfield, but have any courses in the United States gone this route? What is the rationale for not listing par? Is it simply a marketing gimmick to set the course apart and make it unique?

THuckaby2

Re:Warren Course at Notre Dame
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2003, 03:30:37 PM »
Don - the Warren course has been discussed in here several times before, and the reasons for not listing par were debated at length.  I just can't remember what they were and I'm not very good at searching to find such!

Just fyi - par is most definitely listed at Muirfield - I am looking right at my scorecard from this summer and it sure is on there...

TH

Brian_Gracely

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2003, 03:42:21 PM »
seems sort of silly to list the par on the card at Muirfield if playing like the members, ie. fourballs and foursomes with no strokes given or asked.  maybe you have a card from your round during the Open Championship?

THuckaby2

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2003, 03:44:35 PM »
Brian:  ha!  oh yeah, I was right there with Tiger at the last Open...  ;)

In any case you're right, par is rather irrelevant given the format of play.  Perhaps the card I got is just for visitors?  THAT is very possible - wouldn't surprise me at all if they have a separate members' card with just the yardages listed.

TH

Dan_Callahan

« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2003, 03:47:38 PM »