News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Nick Church

Olde Stone (Bowling Green, KY) - Arthur Hills
« on: June 14, 2006, 02:38:19 PM »
In May, I played Olde Stone as a guest.  The day was pretty windy with another golf event in town, so I played by myself.

Overall, a very, very tough course.  I graduated from Western Kentucky University, so I've played a few courses in the state.  Olde Stone certainly is in the top ten percent (IMO).  

I've also been fortunate enough to play Valhalla several times over the years (usually during Derby Week).  Olde Stone reminded me a lot of the topography & design value of Valhalla.  That was an unexpected comparison going into the round.  With that comparison comes both negative and positive traits.

The first hole is the number one handicap, with every reason to be so.  It is not an easy beginning.  Anywhere else in the layout and it's a great design.  I just thought it was too much way too early.  The fairway takes a roller coaster dip to the left (maybe 250 yards out), then quickly rises back up and abruptly ends (maybe 300 out).  I was very fortunate to hit a low drive that ran along the countour of the fairway.  Otherwise, a straight to faded drive is in danger of going out of bounds over an old farm fence.  Again, the aesthetics are wonderful (especially the trees along the fence line, and fairway contours), but too tough for Hole 1.  I struck a 7 iron into the back third of the rather large green.  I had 30 feet downhill to the hole with another 30-40 feet beyond to the front edge.  Yep, my first putt traveled the entire distance off the green.  Did I mention that there is not a single bunker on the first hole?  I was very happy after that to walk away with a double bogey six.  I am not even mini-tour quality, but as single-digit handicap,... well, my ego was humbled.