News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Tim Pitner

Donegal and Connemara
« on: March 21, 2006, 11:03:26 AM »
Several years ago, when I studied for a summer at Trinity College in Dublin, I played the Donegal (Murvagh) and Connemara (Ballyconneely) courses.  While neither course was on the level of, say a Lahinch, I found both to be in great settings and very enjoyable to play.  I particularly liked Murvagh, which I played on a sunny afternoon as a single when there were maybe 2 other groups on the entire course.

I understand there have been changes to both of these courses.  I believe Pat Ruddy has made some changes to Murvagh.  What has he done and how does the new version compare to the old?  I know they've added a new nine at Connemara which is closer to the sea.  How is the new nine?  

Thanks for any comments.

Tim Pitner

Re:Donegal and Connemara
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2006, 02:30:46 PM »
Anyone at all?

mike_malone

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2006, 02:37:59 PM »
 Hang in there ,Tim. There are some posters with knowledge on theses courses. I hope to go to one or the other the next time over.
AKA Mayday

jeffwarne

« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2006, 03:52:20 PM »
Tim,
I'll bite.

I played Donegal in 1997. Beautiful setting, but I felt many of the holes had a straight, LONG,parallel look to them.
Plenty of good holes though. Felt a bit modern, a little bit like the front nine at Waterville prior to the recent redo.
beautiful part of the world though, I distinctly remember a beautiful area of the course with stunning trees (of all things)
My memory may be a bit skewed as our foursome played 18 holes in 2 hours and five minutes(It's a BIG course too) as we arrived late in the evening.
Narin and Portnoo  up the road a ways packs significantly more quirk,fun,and charm (albeit on a much smaller scale)