News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Gary_K

Need some help - Architects
« on: October 05, 2005, 11:47:31 AM »
I need a little help.  I may or may not (due to a potential conflict of interest) be involved in the interview process for a golf course architect for a new golf course.  What are 5-10 (more/less) questions that should be asked/answered when being interviewed?  The site is a corn/bean field, no trees, 40-50 of elevation change.  Would questions like the following be good to ask?

Given the site is a blank slate, what type of a hole do you like to start a course with and why?

How do you see the starting hole influence the pace of play?

What type of hole do you like to finish on both nines with?

I would appreciate some help in coming up with important questions that may be ‘meat and potato’ type questions and others that may reveal something more interesting about the architect.

Brief background, I’m a Professional Civil Engineer and our firm has performed as the City Engineer for a nearby community that is considering a new golf course.  The developer would most likely be a private development group.  I provided a report about the cost of building a golf course and related facilities/infrastructure.  Included were a couple of CAD drawings with course routings and potential adjacent development.  This took a lot of time and effort and I did it on my own free time.  I didn’t charge for the work.  I did it because I’m interested in golf course architecture and construction.