News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Carl Rogers

Re: In-depth Feature Interview with Game's Greatest Player now posted
« Reply #50 on: August 20, 2015, 09:33:09 AM »
I have read a lot of design theory and various design critiques in other fields ( I am a building architect) and to expect any individual to be 100% intellectually consistent at all times when commenting on such buzz words as "minimalism" is hopelessly implausible.  The GCA has to be given a lot latitude and way more than the benefit of the doubt in order to their job.
I would say the objective is to discover the sweet spot between fun, playability & challenge for each project.  My observation is that is nearly impossible to do for a single course for the top 500 golfers in the world & the rest of us at the same time.
I decline to accept the end of man. ... William Faulkner

Adam Clayman

« Reply #51 on: August 20, 2015, 10:02:59 AM »
A huge problem in the cohesiveness of the interview has to be attributed to the way it was carried out. Am I right these were transcribed answers to conversations made over the course of time?

On the term minimalism, IMO it was used esoterically to describe the difference between "What those guys do" and what the big fee, big name, big project names, of the post Dow Jones breaking through 1000 for the first time era, manufactured. Which culminated in naturalness visionaries like Dick Y. @ Sand Hills and Mike K. in Oregon.

Sure, it's all opinion, But, It ends up boiling down to taste. I think Mike K. gets the nod for having the best taste because he appreciates the principles (and the warnings) that Max Behr poetically riddled in his prose.

"It's unbelievable how much you don't know about the game you've been playing your whole life." - Mickey Mantle

Doug Siebert

« Reply #52 on: August 20, 2015, 05:22:32 PM »