News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Josh Bills

Chautauqua Point Golf Course (with pics)
« on: June 03, 2014, 06:21:40 PM »
This is my first attempt at introducing a course, so be gentle. 

Chautauqua Point Golf Course in Dewittville, NY is a 9 hole course with a par of 35.  It has 2 par 5’s and 3 par 3’s.  This has become a special place for me over the last almost 20 years, where my wife will play, my father-in-law and I will play to determine who makes drinks before dinner, friends and family will enjoy an afternoon match and I hope that once my twin daughters are old enough they can play.   For now it costs only $10 to walk 9 holes. 

I don’t know who created this course, but am currently working on that.  The Chautauqua Point  Community right next door was designed by Frederick Law Olmsted, but nothing I have seen to date shows he was in any way responsible for this course.  And as with Mr. Olmsted’s intent for the Point to be without trees so all could enjoy the views, the community and course don’t appear to have maintained that understanding or desire.  This is not a thread about too many trees or about the best course in the USA, New York or even the Chautauqua region, just wanted to share a course where there is minimal watering and usually by July the course is playing firm and fast (as usually only the greens gets watered).  It is a quirky course that brings one back to a simpler time with minimal costs and just enjoying a day with family or friends.   

The 1st hole is a short par 5 (501 Blue/491 White) with a slight dogleg right, OB and a road on the left and a strand of pines going down the entire right side.  The entire course slopes towards the lake and almost every shot, not on a tee, will be influenced by the slope.  The first hole is easily reachable, but a small basically tilted green from back to front with no other break and a somewhat raised green make it a small target to hit. 

Tee shot