News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Doug Ralston

Intro To Doug Ralston
« on: July 05, 2006, 12:39:21 PM »
Greetings golf course lovers;

I have been reading your postings for some time. I saw one about obscure locations for courses, and was foolish enough to use Ran's e-mail to remind him of 'Twisted Gun' [which someone mentioned later, but you have GOT TO see the directions given in golfcourse.com to appreciate]. Anyway, this is the result of that e-mail. Now I have gotta do all this typing....

I am not a course designer. I am not even much of a golfer ["I don't have a handicap, I have a total disability"], but I DO love golf courses. Because I am not very skilled, and I am 55 yrs old with arthritis, I might be able to give you are different perspective on course design.......that is, how it plays from the front tees [please be kind, do not call them 'women's tees]. I think I can actually play up to about 5700 yards, and still hope for the occasional GIR.

Another aspect to being a 'bad golfer' is that I probably do not appreciate certain subtleties as much as you. 'Shot values' has never been an easy concept for me. I more or less decide what I might hit to go where I need to be for the next shot. If there is more than one place that seems good, I try to think which one will give me the best chances on the next shot, and is within the realm of possibility for this one  :-\. You say that IS 'shot values'? How so?

I live in the Cincinnati area, and have played many courses [I am not gonna conquer any, so I shall try to play them all] in Kentucky,Ohio, Indiana and a few in other surrounding states, and my perspective on course quality will come obviously from my limited experience. Of course, being poor, I have only played publics. Still, I think many have been worthy courses, and a few are IMHO sensational.