News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Richard Hetzel

The Par 5 fifth hole at Great Dunes - Walter Travis PICS
« on: July 20, 2009, 12:11:15 PM »
I have been playing golf on Jekyll Island for almost 20 years. At one time I really avoided the Great Dunes course like the plague, but not any longer. I find myself much more drawn to this seaside course the older I get, especially the par 5, fifth hole. I also don't mind the dried out sections on the course (and there are a lot of them) that you will see in the pictures. It is a unique hole and quite challenging as shot placement really comes into play. I would bet, that back in 1926 getting a par was tough. It measures approximately 524 yards from the tips (blue tees). Landing the green and holding it can be challenging, it is a small green, and an unseen target. Enjoy the pics...

View from the tee:

A zoomed pic that is deceiving because that is the 150 stake just beyond the fairway bunkers.

From left side of fairway (snap hooked my drive!):

Right side fairway bunker:

A little farther to the left is a depression, I wonder if it was originally another fairway bunker that was later filled in?

You need a well placed second shot to have a clear shot through the opening to the green. You can go over the palms, but it becomes a blind shot  into a pretty SMALL green.

The 5th green at 6:15am...and an excellent view of the ocean.

View looking back from the 6th tee area...

« Last Edit: July 20, 2009, 12:13:53 PM by Rich Hetzel »
Best Played So Far This Season:
Crystal Downs CC (MI), The Bridge (NY), Canterbury GC (OH), Lakota Links (CO), Montauk Downs (NY), Sedge Valley (WI)

Mark Pritchett

Re: The Par 5 fifth hole at Great Dunes - Walter Travis PICS
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2009, 01:20:32 PM »
Rich,