News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Harvey Dickens

New Member Intro
« on: July 01, 2009, 08:17:04 PM »
Thought I would take a moment and introduce myself.

Harvey Dickens
Age- 49
Home- Campbellsville Kentucky
Married for 24 years. Father of triplet girls age 11
Employed by natural gas pipeline company

Hello to all. I have been lurking on this site for awhile and thought I would like to join the discussion. I am very new to the design/architecture aspect of golf. I have played the game for many years and always had a special interest in the courses but never really thought about why. I am the guy on the buddy trips that picks the courses while other say "just pick some, what difference does it make."

I thought I had played some great courses until I read some of the lists of courses played by members of this forum. My list is not as impressive but no one has had more fun playing their list than I have.We have a nice trip coming up next week, playing TPC Sawgrass, Ocean Hammock and Conservetory. Still looking for one more course to take one of my daughters on if any one has a suggestion.

I look forward to learning more about the design side of the game and the strategy behind it.

Harvey

George Pazin

Re: New Member Intro
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2009, 08:26:50 PM »
Welcome, sounds like you have a terrific attitude toward our wonderful game.

With triplet daughters, I'm guessing you will be doing a lot of late night posting in a few short years... :)
Big drivers and hot balls are the product of golf course design that rewards the hit one far then hit one high strategy.  Shinny showed everyone how to take care of this whole technology dilemma. - Pat Brockwell, 6/24/04

JC Jones

« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2009, 08:32:06 PM »
Welcome.

Have you met GCA celeb John Mayhugh?  He may be the only other Kentuckian on this site (although Bogey Hendren is from Tennessee and I'm not sure there is a difference).