News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

W.H. Cosgrove

Re:Talk about Chambers Bay, wow!
« Reply #25 on: May 01, 2007, 12:25:17 AM »
Nyk thanks for the clarification on your backround and others in the team.  As well as the breakdown in costs for the project.  Figures that the local media seem to have been unable to breakdown as cogently as you have here.  

As a long time resident, I still maintain that one of the challenges will be to gain broad acceptance of the project by locals.  Whether it be the lack of understanding by locals of the 'walking only' policy or the perception that the course was built for tourists and not local residents.  Obviously, critical acclaim and financial success would provide potent ammunition in defeating these attitudes.  

Finally low self esteem or not, this is a bold project driven by a government spending a great deal of taxpayer money.  Many of the personalities involved are very powerful which has lead to some heated and critical comments, including some by me.The final project has exceeded many of our expectations.  I would hope that in part the critical success of this project was aided by some of these frank discussions and I wish Chambers Bay, Pierce County and the sewer district all the best as the course opens.  

I look forward to meeting you.

Jesse Jones

« Reply #26 on: May 01, 2007, 12:26:20 PM »

Nyk,

It was nice to meet you last week. You have a helluva course.
   As someone who's lived most of his life near CB, let me tell you a little more about the "low self esteem" issue.
   People here have been told for a long time that where they live is not quite good enough. Long time residents have a resentment for most of the Seattle area, the reason is unclear, but it is there.
    So in Tacoma you have a "we" attitude. Seattle might great, but we're better than them. Outside of a few neighborhoods in Tacoma, people of all races and economic levels get along.