News:

Welcome to the Golf Club Atlas Discussion Group!

Please note, each user is approved by the Golf Club Atlas editorial staff. For any new inquiries, please contact us and we will be in contact.

Ran Morrissett

As any architect evolves in his career, some ideals come and some ideals go. For instance, if he trys too much innovative stuff, and is beaten down time and time again by hapless critics, his style may well and truly change.For sake of a discussion on a present day's architect, I have picked High Pointe. Given what we have seen in Tom's subsequent work, and culminating with three big openings this year, how do you think Tom would build "High Pointe" if he was given the identical track of land today? What would be different, if anything?

b. williams

How much different would High Pointe be if it was designed today?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 1999, 07:00:00 PM »
i have no direct experience at high pointe but other first time efforts changed considerably as their architect's principles changed. a fine example is oakmont and  the fownes family's relentlessly tinkering that led the course away from a penal to strategic design.

Seth Raynor

« Reply #2 on: November 07, 1999, 07:00:00 PM »
1. The Redan hole would have more fairway to encourage the ball to bound onto the green and the pitch of the green itself would be perhaps even increased.2. The Alps hole built today would be less severe than the original (but don't ask me how).

Ran Morrissett

« Reply #3 on: November 07, 1999, 07:00:00 PM »