News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

mcorrion

Turnberry- Architecture
« on: January 13, 2004, 11:59:05 PM »
Is Turnberry near the isle of Arran?

Could anyone tell me about the course and clubhouse architecture, and the landscape of that area in general?

I am a Landscape Architect looking for concepts, forms, and themes for a new golf course community in the plains just east of Denver, Colorado.  The owner wants to use Turnberry as the "theme".   Is there anything in the landscape that distinguishes this golf club?
thanks for your help

Tim_Weiman

Re:Turnberry- Architecture
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2004, 01:01:08 AM »
mcorrion:

Unless things have changed, I don't believe Turnberry really has a clubhouse. Instead, the venue is well known for its beautiful hotel which sits up on a hill over looking the two courses and perhaps for its lighthouse.

Its really a hotel with golf, not a golf club per se.

Just go to Google and I'm sure you'll find pictures of the hotel.

Not sure I can think of a Turnberry "theme" to fit in Denver, Colorado.

Tim Weiman

ForkaB

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2004, 01:16:03 AM »
mcorrion

Turnberry does have a clubhouse, a massive CCFAD-type structure that was buhilt in the last 10-15 years.  It also hosts a proper Golf Club, whose members have certain grandfathered rights vis a vis the owners of the hotel.  However........

......I lived in Colorado for 2 years and in Scotland for most of the past 15 years, and I cannot think of two more disparate land forms than Turnberry and the plains east of Denver.

Your client has a VERY vivid imagination.  Good luck!

T_MacWood

« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2004, 06:28:27 AM »