News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

John Challenger

St. Andrews' Undulations
« on: October 13, 2023, 09:39:35 PM »
It's not surprising that the C.B. Macdonald ranked "Perfection in undulations and hillocks" with a value of 22, the second highest of all essential golf course features, just one away from "Nature of the Soil." Bobby Jones and Alister MacKenzie agreed. Undulations is the most critical feature in terms of dictating strategy, even more important than hazards. They are hazards in that they can be something to be avoided, but they can also be something to find.

"The more i studied the Old Course at St. Andrews, the more I loved it, and the more I loved it, the more I studied it."

Robert Tyre (Bobby) Jones, Jr.

"If the members of the Royal and Ancient care a damn what the critics thought, all these fascinating undulations would have been shaved off and the world would have been deprived of the only golf course on real links land that has not been defaced by the hand of man.

There is probably not a quarter of the bunker area at St. Andrews that there is on other well-known courses: the course is made by its undulations.  Even after years of study of the course, I am always discovering fresh and better methods of playing the holes."

Alister MacKenzie
« Last Edit: October 13, 2023, 09:45:42 PM by John Challenger »

John Connolly

Re: St. Andrews' Undulations
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2023, 03:21:52 PM »
John,

Interesting topic. I'll start with a question. When does a ripple become an undulation? Or when does rumpled terrain become large enough area to be classified as undulatory? Because if undulations are to be strategic, they would have to be large enough to gauge from a distance. Asked another way, is the rumpled and rippled nature of links fairways a smaller-scale version of undulations?
"And yet - and yet, this New Road will some day be the Old Road, too."

Neil Munroe (1863-1930)

David_Tepper