News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Ryan Hillenbrand

GCA Golf Outing - St. Louis
« on: March 03, 2016, 10:17:58 AM »
Update - Well my attempt with the mystery course, St. Louis CC, did not come to fruition. The offer is still open for St. Clair on Friday, and Saturday at Glen Echo. However, with lukewarm interest thus far I am least planning on being at Glen Echo on the 18th. So feel free to join me, and if anyone is interested in still hooking up the 17th and seeing St. Clair, we can do that too.

With golf returning to the Olympics this summer, I thought it would be fun to host an outing at the course where the games were contested for the first and only time in 1904 - Glen Echo Country Club. This is my first time trying to organize one of these for the discussion group, so here goes....

I have a block of tee times reserved for June 18th around 11am. I also have afternoon rounds lined up on the 17th at St. Clair CC, a William Langford design across the river. However, there is a chance that could be replaced by an architecturally significant course here in town that shall go unnamed for now. There may not be as many slots open for this, so the overflow will either go to St. Clair, or perhaps part of the St. Louis contingent that takes part here would like to host some at their course or club. First come, first served.

For out of towners, or even locals who want to hang together I have a block of rooms, and shuttle transportation to the courses lined up each day. Glen Echo and St. Clair are about 10 minutes from downtown St. Louis, but we might as well relax and not worry about traffic or getting lost. Here is the itinerary so far:

June 17th - Afternoon golf at Mystery course, St. Clair, or another local gem
- Lodging at the Missouri Athletic Club in downtown St. Louis. $125 for a double room. Optional Dinner at the MAC that evening