News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Brian Colbert

OT - Golf in Ireland - Do's and Don'ts?
« on: May 11, 2014, 05:06:38 PM »
My father and I are heading over to Ireland in September for a 9 day golf trip. We already have our tentative course lineup setup so there are no concerns there. This is my first time playing golf across the pond; what are some of the important things to do while I am over there? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Padraig Dooley

Re: OT - Golf in Ireland - Do's and Don'ts?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2014, 05:19:19 PM »
Rule No.1 - Enjoy yourself

Rule No.2 - remember rule no. 1!!
There are painters who transform the sun to a yellow spot, but there are others who with the help of their art and their intelligence, transform a yellow spot into the sun.
  - Pablo Picasso

Bill_McBride

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2014, 05:25:02 PM »
Visit Dunluce Castle, the Giant's Causeway and the Bushmills distillery near Portrush.  Good non golf things to do.  And be sure to play the Valley Course at Portrush, lots of fun Colt course.  
« Last Edit: May 11, 2014, 05:45:12 PM by Bill_McBride »

Paul Gray

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2014, 05:36:16 PM »
A few words in the local lingo usually works wonders anywhere in the world.

Cart = Buggy
Push Cart = Trolley

Avoid wearing shorts and that should do the trick.  ;D
In the places where golf cuts through pretension and elitism, it thrives and will continue to thrive because the simple virtues of the game and its attendant culture are allowed to be most apparent. - Tim Gavrich

Ed Brzezowski

« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2014, 05:46:36 PM »
Find and read a book  " a course called Ireland" , fairly funny . It does include some great places to eat and drink.
We have a pool and a pond, the pond would be good for you.

Rory Connaughton

« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2014, 05:54:07 PM »
Play for the green not the flag

Tim Johnson

« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2014, 06:18:27 PM »