News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Ben Lovett

New Member Introduction
« on: December 03, 2012, 02:20:24 AM »
Hi my name is Ben Lovett
I am currently the course manager at the Montgomerie Maxx Royal golf club in Belek Turkey. I grew up in the golf industry and have been a member of Ferndown and Trevose in the UK and Sotogrande in Spain. I started off working on construction projects in Ireland,England and Spain for Peter Mcevoy and Cabell Robinson before heading to Penn State where I studied Turfgrass. I interned at East Lake before heading to Troon North to work for Troon Golf.
Troon then sent me around the world sarting at the Grove in London before heading to Austrailia where I was fortunate to spend several years living with a member of Royal Melbourne. After a brief spell back in Spain I moved to Turkey in 2009 where I took over at the Montgomerie an EGD desiged course set on a pure sand ridge and plenty of pine trees.
I am a 16 handicap potential bandit if I had more time to play

Adam Lawrence

Re: New Member Introduction
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2012, 05:49:19 AM »
Does this signify the imminent invasion of the whole Lovett clan? Welcome Ben!
Adam Lawrence

Editor, Golf Course Architecture
www.golfcoursearchitecture.net

Principal, Oxford Golf Consulting
www.oxfordgolfconsulting.com

Author, 'More Enduring Than Brass: a biography of Harry Colt' (forthcoming).

Short words are best, and the old words, when short, are the best of all.

Ulrich Mayring

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2012, 06:19:33 AM »
Welcome Ben! You sure are sitting in a nice spot, weather-wise. But what are you doing in July and August? Business probably slowish in Belek...

I have another question: how would you compare Sotogrande and Valderrama?

Kind regards,

Ulrich
Golf Course Exposé (300+ courses reviewed), Golf CV (how I keep track of 'em)

Ben Lovett

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2012, 07:52:28 AM »