News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Chris Wirthwein

What does a Course Rater want to see/do on a visit?
« on: January 02, 2011, 10:56:24 AM »
I've recently been asked to serve as a "host" for Course Raters who visit and play our course (Crooked Stick). I am also the club historian and have written the club's history book (www.crookedstickbook.com).

For raters who visit and want a member to play with them, I'll accompany. If they want to play on their own, I'll make sure they know the lay of the facilities and then get out of their way. We've also considered emailing the rater some background/club history information prior to their visit and of course we would be happy to have a meal/beverage with them before or after their round if they so choose.

All that aside, does anyone have advice for how we can make the visit valuable, instructive and enjoyable for a Course Rater?

I'm new to this, so any help you can provide would be most appreciated...

Joel_Stewart

Re: What does a Course Rater want to see/do on a visit?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 12:14:34 PM »
This is a good question but not one that can be answered easily.

All panelists are different.  I've hosted a lot of panelists and some want to know the history.  In your case their history is what John Daly did and not why Pete Dye did something.  Others are just looking for a free round.  Others want to play it all the way back and try for a score.  My guess would be 20% are interested in the architecture.

I had one idiot that wanted to gamble and then he wanted me to club him on every shot.  Another that was pissed we took caddies and basically shuffeled his feet the entire way and never looked up.  I pointed certain features out to him and he had no idea what I was talking about.

My suggestion is to set the tone, make him/her walk, do not allow them to bring a guest, show their creditianals, and play from the middle tees.

Ben Sims