News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Anthony_Nysse

Golf Course Architecture and it's History
« on: March 11, 2002, 07:38:10 AM »
Fellas,
  As some of you know, I'm a turf student at Michigan State. I'm doing research for a project on the history of golf course architecture. I know all about the Raynors, CB's, Mac's, Tillies. Ross', etc. Do any of you have any interesting facts, comments about it's history, your opinions of where it's going, things that I should include. Anything would be helpful. Thanks
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »
Anthony J. Nysse
Director of Golf Courses & Grounds
Apogee Club
Hobe Sound, FL

Brian Phillips

Re: Golf Course Architecture and it's History
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2002, 10:04:03 AM »
Anthony,

You could find out about the first Architect ever which was Allan Robertson on TOC.  Followed by Old Tom taking over what Robertson had started to recommend.

You could also start describing how golf spread in Scotland with the growth of railway.  Also how golf started up in England down around London.

You could also argue why golf did so well on these first courses because of the perfect sand it was based on and how poor the areas were for farming.  You could even be cheeky enough to say that the USGA rec. particle sizing is based on the sand from these courses...which it is, but you won't get a USGA man to admit that.... ;D

Give me a buzz on the e-mail and I can copy some stuff from all my books that I have.  Would be glad to help.

It all depends on how far back you want to go.  If you want to get a basic background on GCA buy 'The Golf Course' or as it is now known 'The Architects of golf'.

I can give you some quotes from that if you want..

just buzz me..

Cheers Brian.