News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Eric Pevoto

Starting a Club History
« on: May 23, 2002, 04:34:51 PM »
Originally, I was going to pose this question through personal messages to a few of the club historians and such, but I've decided it would be interesting to get a variety of views.

I'm a golf professional and I work for a group that's developing Gil Hanse's latest project, French Creek Golf Club, outside Elverson, PA very near Stonewall.  I'd been at another Hanse renovated course, Downingtown CC, for the past five years.  

As someone who loves gca, I'm thrilled to have seen and been a part of the planning for the past 4 or so years and excited to be able to see construction from day one.  

Outside of building a membership and club, part of my "mission" is to chronicle the happenings so that people like us fifty or a hundred years from now will have an accurate history to look back upon.  I mean this from the point of the course and the club. Once the club is established I expect this job will be passed to a member.

Does anybody have any advice as to things that are often overlooked?  

How should these chronicles be compiled so that they will be preserved and remain intact?  

What clubs serve as models?

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »
There's no home cooking these days.  It's all microwave.Bill Kittleman

Golf doesn't work for those that don't know what golf can be...Mike Nuzzo

Craig Rokke

Re: Starting a Club History
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2002, 06:51:50 PM »
Eric,

I'm not particularly knowledgable about club histories, but I would think two goals should be foremost: 1. To chronicle
the aims of the club founders, and, perhaps more importantly,
Gil Hanse's intent with the design, and maintenance practices.
A hole by hole commentary would probably prove to be valuable at some point. 2. To help establish a sense of pride in the history of French Creek GC.