News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Philippe Binette

Outside of hosting championships, are USGA greens useful
« on: February 17, 2009, 07:34:36 AM »
I'm no agronomy expert, but I'm just wondering if USGA greens are just an expensive way to built greens for a standard course...

Is it really worth the trouble and money, compare to building a push-up green with good material or a california green?

Do you make an economy of water, chemical or whatever else with USGA greens?

Is it also working fine with any type of grasses?

thnaks

Alan FitzGerald CGCS MG

Re: Outside of hosting championships, are USGA greens useful
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2009, 09:02:41 AM »
There's no real easy answer, push-ups can be fine, it all depends on what is desired by the club.

However the main benefit of USGA spec green is water management. They are designed to be free draining but also 'hold' enough water to help the plant survive. They can be played on pretty much regardless of rainfall, offer more consistant conditions during wet and dry periods and can be kept drier during hot periods due to the perched water table (although that's more due to the ability to grow longer roots in the sandy medium.)

The only real differences between a UGSA green and a California one are USGA spec greens have a gravel layer for drainage that creates the perched water table that 'holds' the water and USGA spec greens usually contain peat/compost throughout the entire profile to help retain nuitrients, whereas California greens are straight sand with admentments tilled into the surface to aid turf growth.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2009, 09:07:42 AM by Alan FitzGerald »
Golf construction & maintenance are like creating a masterpiece; Da Vinci didn't paint the Mona Lisa's eyes first..... You start with the backdrop, layer on the detail and fine tune the finished product into a masterpiece

Ally Mcintosh

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2009, 09:28:29 AM »