News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Patrick Hodgdon

Forgive the newbie here if this has been covered before.

I was curious what the board thinks in terms of what the best "winter" destination was these days in terms of clubs Northerners join to play during the time their regular clubs are closed mostly Nov-April and what makes them so.

What is the best golf course in terms of Architecture? In terms of most fun to play?

What is the best development? Best development company? Best just plain old golf club?

What is the best value or bang for the buck?

What is the best location or destination?
« Last Edit: May 26, 2008, 11:00:03 PM by Patrick Hodgdon »
Did you know World Woods has the best burger I've ever had in my entire life? I'm planning a trip back just for another one between rounds.

"I would love to be a woman golfer." -JC Jones

John_Conley

Re: Best Snow Bird Resorts/Destinations/Winter Golf Clubs...
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2008, 12:22:07 AM »
Patrick, that question is so wide-open that it is almost impossible to answer.  I know one guy that joined the Harbor Club (near Cuscowilla and Reynolds Plantation) because it is one of the only clubs in the Southeast that allows anytime walking.  The course is a blast to play too, even if it isn't as solid architecturally as Cuscowilla.

You've spent several years in Naples.  Some people love that lifestyle.  As you know, the club at Bonita Bay is quite a bit different than Calusa Pines or Naples National. 

I've never been, but I've heard the weather in Phoenix is superior to Florida.  Tons of courses there too, so obviously some folks vote for Arizona as best.

Best value?  How about free golf for life on the par 3 courses at the Villages?  Think about it.  As you get close to dying who wants to play 7000 yards anyway?

Good questions, but I don't think you'll get easy answers.

cary lichtenstein

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2008, 09:52:14 AM »
Patrick: