News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Philip Gawith

Yelverton (pictures)
« on: June 24, 2007, 01:56:54 PM »
Yelverton is a Herbert Fowler designed course (1904) nextdoor to Dartmoor in Devon. I am no expert on his work so will leave it to others to judge. Mark Rowlinson has written that it is one of his "less constructed' courses, though he adds that "man-made obstacles from earlier generations are utilised tellingly. The Devonport Leat of the 1790s forms a mostly waterless ditch crossing several fairways, and 19th-century tin workings have left many mischievous mounds and depressions around greens."

The course plays like a links and has quite a lot of width. Although there is a lot of gorse, the animals keep it in good trim so you can walk amongst it and find balls which is very handy.

The 207 yard par three opener, from about 50 yards out.

Mounding at the back of the 2nd (I think)

More of the mounding...

The 282 yard driveable short 3rd, but blind off the tee..

Looking back up the par 5 fifth hole, with the clever diagonal feature.

The 142 yard short sixth....

Dartmoor ponies intrude on the drive of the downhill right to left par 5 eighth hole. The leat crosse the fairway at about 280 yards.

The approach to the short 289 yard ninth, with the leat again in play.

The leat crosses the 420 yard 10th twice - a more natural version of the Barry Burn/hole 17!

The par 5 481 yard eleventh - "all in front of you", and reachable in two with two big hits.

The short 12th - a tough tee shot with land sloping right to left, and four bunkers and mounding protecting the left of the green.

A closer look at the twelfth green

Greenside at the tough 13th. You have to carry the ball the best part of 180 - 220 yards to carry this gulley.

Another look at the thirteenth...