News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Tucker Davis

1st Residential Golf Community in America
« on: December 22, 2005, 05:00:01 PM »
Heys guys,,I just joined the site.  I used to be a member a few years ago, but work and school have kept me busy.  I have been keeping in touch with what is going with the site over the last couple of months.

I am getting  my Masters in Planning and I am begining work on my thesis.  I am preparing a master plan for a golf course development outside of Memphis, Tn.  I am studying how to blend New Urbanism and Traditional Neighborhood Design principles with a golf course development.  I am focusing on associating the Golf Clubhouse as an anchor for the Town Center.

For some of my research I am trying to find out some information about the 1st master planned golf community in the United States.  Does anyone have any idea where this might be??

Bill_McBride

Re:1st Residential Golf Community in America
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2005, 05:16:14 PM »
Tucker, no idea, but it's funny, John "Tiger" Bernhardt was very interested a couple of years ago in building a course tightly integrated into a new village.  He was looking closely at Scottish villages and the important role golf plays in those small towns.  Of particular interest in Scotland is how egalitarian golf is, especially when compared to England.  The plumber plays with the lord of the manor.  

It's an interesting topic, and one where affordable, accessible, and low impact golf could serve a vital role for a town wrapped around it.