News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Mike Golden

Amazingly enough the 'MacKenzie lost it' thread got me thinking about how my thoughts on Golf Courses have evolved over the years.

I've played golf for over 40 years but, until about 10 years ago, had no clue about golf course design.  All I knew was whether I liked a course or not (and some would say I am still at that point ;D).

I started playing golf on full length courses in the mid 60's on New York City Public courses like Silver Lake, LaTourette, and Dyker Beach, and Forest Park.  LaTourette was clearly the best golf course and, of course, years later I found that it was designed by a Golden Age architect (as was Dyker Beach, I suppose but it had been greatly modified over the years).

In the early 70's I started playing Bethpgage Black and fell in love with the golf course.  I knew nothing of Tillinghast until years later but knew this was a great golf course-heroic, fun to play, and tough.

In 1983, while spending some time in Scotland on business, I had the opportunity to play both TOC (2X) plus the New Course, Gleneagles Queens, and one of the local courses near Glenrothes.  I greatly enjoyed each and every round in Scotland for both the speed of play (Gleneagles Queens on a Sunday mid morning in 3 hours and 10 minutes) and the history of the golf courses.  TOC was a thrill because of what is stood for historically (and a caddy who led me around the golf course by my nose) but, except for the caddy's instructions, I knew nothing about why the strategy existed or was important.  All I knew was that, when I asked the caddy why I was hitting my tee shot way left once instead of straight, he said 'there's Hell out there, laddie'.

After moving to California in the mid-80's and playing Pasatiempo a few times I also developed a deep appreciation for it and again, knew nothing of MacKenzie (I didn't even have a clue about who designed Cypress Point).