News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

David Stamm

Los Angeles Country Club North-Pics
« on: September 19, 2007, 02:28:52 PM »
Just thought I'd share some photo's with everyone here on this magnificent course. I played with my friend and fellow GCAer Jon Spaulding and it was quite a treat. I've also included some scans of old photo's from Shackelford's book on Thomas as well as from Thomas' own book for comparison reasons. I hope they can give those viewing this an idea of what they are looking at then and now. I hope everyone enjoys them. This is my first attempt at combining scanning old photo's and showing them with recent photo's, so if the presentation is a little rudimentary, I apologize ahead of time.

The view of the beautiful clubhouse from the 1st FW

The view from the first tee. Straightaway par 5 of 524 yards.

View of the first green. Perhaps Tommy N can comment on this, but I believe the bell tower in the background is the church that Thomas had donated money to build. I'm not certain.

The wonderful par 4 3rd. Thomas and Bell made great use of the natural landforms here. This is the view from the tee. 385 yds.

A closer view, with the bag (Jon's) showing the ideal landing area

The view from the less than ideal angle, where this feature empties into the wash behind

A look back at the tee. The wash can be seen to the right, where the previous feature shown can be seen flowing into   it.

A closer view of the green

The tee shot on the par 4 5th, 474 yds. This was one of the holes that Thomas' had originally designed to be a hole within a hole.

The view from the fairway looking back at the tee. It appears, although I'm not certain, that the old alternate tee can be seen on the left, shortening the hole to 360 yds and utilizing the right portion of the green for that route.

The sketch of Thomas' as it appears in Shackelford's book.