News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Adam_F_Collins

Tom Fazio and Jack Nicklaus - The Positives
« on: June 14, 2004, 11:24:14 PM »
I'm serious.

There's a lot of love heaped on a few architects here, (most of them dead) and I'm sure that it's well deserved.

At the same time, I notice an awful lot of heat aimed at Tom Fazio and Jack Nicklaus.

Now, I am a newbie at this whole subject, and before I began to read this forum, I would have imagined that Tom and Jack were pretty damned good architects. I mean, Tom Fazio does a lot of work - including the recent changes made at the sacred ANGC...

Jack also does a lot of work and gets some damed fine opportunities, including his most recent collaboration with one of the few living architects to be favored on this forum...

So let's have it. What do people like about these guys? I've never played a Fazio course and only played Glen Abbey from Jack, so I don't know much. What's the deal?

I don't want any attacks here this time so please. In their best work, what are their strengths? (And let's keep it architectural here - no one needs another rant about how good they are at marketing).

I know that many of you dislike the works of these guys, and if you know of no positive aspects, then fine. But if you use your best, unbiased critical thinking...

...what're the positives?

Tommy_Naccarato

Re:Tom Fazio and Jack Nicklaus - The Positives
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2004, 01:53:25 AM »
Adam,
Jack Nickalus and Golden Bear Design--An Architecture firm that I believe is firmly trying to enter the non-mainstream artesan market.  I really do think they are going to do their typical packaged courses, but when you look at courses like Mayacama, Eldorado, the collarboration with Tom Doak--This is clearly a group that wants to do GREAT work, that wants to be cut loose and create.  I give them credit for trying to do so, and I will make atempts to see these courses soon.