News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Bob_Gold

best design SF Bay Area Public?
« on: August 02, 2002, 10:11:02 AM »
    Just wondering what people think of Public courses in the Bay Area.  I've been playing around out here for a few years and I have my own opinion.  Here is my opinion of the public courses I have played in the Bay area.
1.  Presidio  -  good old course.  very pretty.  some weker holes but not too many.  too bad about the weather.
2.  Franklin Canyon  -  I'm not sure why but this course does it for me.  I guess I like the fact there are no really weak holes on the course.
3.  Poppy Ridge - A little too far for me (1 hour drive) but I like the design.  I'm not a huge fan of modern links style (in my opinion, too many times this means they had a treeless plot of land and didn't want to plant any)
4.  Tilden Park - Very pretty old course.  Some holes are weak some are strong.  Nice park setting.  Many elevation changes make it interesting.  Decent conditions.  
5.  San Geronimo - Not a great course but pretty challenging.  Especially the back 9.
6.  Pacifica - this is not the name of the course but the location.  The back nine is beautiful seaside links. the front nine decent but not as good.
7.  Gleneagles - 9 hole course.  extremely difficult.  Very interesting.  No boring holes.  Many side hill lies.  Not really long but narrow and greens are tough.  conditions are fair to just OK.  Price is right and it's not crowded.
8.  Monarch Bay - This used to be landfill.  The pictures and advertising make it look like a beauty but it's only so so.  Another modern links course
9.  Chuck Corica -  Not really that interesting.  A good ego boost.  Hard pressed to find an uneven lie on the whole course.
10.  Lincoln Park - Intersting to play (view of a beautiful museum and GG Bridge.  Conditions are poor and overall layout is not that strong.  Too many weak holes.  Pretty though.