News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

spomer87

Getting Into Golf Architecture
« on: August 03, 2002, 05:25:49 PM »
 I am a sophomore in high school and after playing some of Nebraska's great golf courses like Quary Oaks and Wild Horse, I knew what I wanted to do for a living.  I want to become a golf architect.  The problem is that I don't know how to become one.  After reading the article in "Sports Illstrated" about this site, I knew this was the place to go to find out how to become a golf architect.  I was wondering if anyone can give me any advice on how to become a golf architect. I would really appreciate it. Thanks, Sam
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »

A_Clay_Man

Re: Getting Into Golf Architecture
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2002, 06:03:54 PM »
There are many more qualified than me to tell you, but since you asked, and it's a weekend when everyone is out golfing, I'll take a stab at it.

Since you are so young you will have the time to study the fundementals and all that go into GCA. And that would be everything! From sciences to Art and more! But, don't be discouraged there is no formulamatic way to become one.

If you look at the serendipity of how some of the greats became GCA'ers or even some of the contemporaries, you'll follow a path that you think will get you where you want. Remember It takes more than knowledge, more than people skills, and above all it will take more than luck.

My best advice would be to make alot of money, and then hire one, and tell him want you want. And in the mean time, study what this site has to offer on the history and the different mistakes and keep your finger on the pulse of whats acceptable.

Jeremy_Glenn.

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2002, 07:10:47 PM »
spomer87,