News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Kalen Braley

Re:Brad Klein-Fazio's Biggest Fan
« Reply #25 on: May 10, 2007, 05:04:25 PM »
There is a element of luck to it I think.

The closet I've come to making an ace is the 1st year I started playing.  I hit a 5 wood on a 150 yard hole that ended up two feet from the pin.  I've never been closer than that ever since.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2007, 05:04:52 PM by Kalen Braley »

Rick Shefchik

« Reply #26 on: May 10, 2007, 05:25:13 PM »
THis is the bitter voice of an aceless golfer, so keep in mind.

8 iron?  Jeez Brad you must have played a really up tee or you are HUGELY LONG.  I've played the hole in question, and it was a freakin' 3wood for me... 230 over the water.

It's a memorable hole from that distance only because it's so damn tough.  It would be pretty commonplace from normal human 8 iron distance.  That being said, it is a pretty shallow green and I recall some contour.

Sorry to detract from the issue at hand though - way to go Brad!

BY the way, I've witnessed many aces - at least 6-8 - and of course never have had one myself.  Play with me if you want to get one.  I was in the group with Bill McBride.... still say that's the best golf shot I've ever seen.

TH

Huck,

Sometimes drastic situations call for drastic measures. Come to Stillwater, Minn., someday to play my home course, Stillwater Country Club, and chances are good you'll leave with an ace under your belt.

The 13th hole at Stillwater CC is a 175-yard dropshot with a punchbowl green that's really more like a funnel. I don't think a week goes by without somebody acing it.

I joined the club this spring, and in my first round, playing with three longtime club members, we got to the 13th tee and I said, "You guys must have all seen an ace here." They just laughed; two of them said they had an ace on that hole, and the other said he had two.

You've been playing the wrong courses. ;)