News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Tim Kratz

Dismal River
« on: February 02, 2007, 07:01:19 PM »
Dismal River continues to generate significant interest on this site.  There has been a good deal of intelligent conversation (e.g., Matt Ward’s detailed review) and some ridiculous and false statements regarding dirt moving.   On yet another cold and snowy day in Denver, I finally have the time to put together some admittedly biased thoughts on the course in which I hold a some ownership interest.  

THE DIRT DEBATE:  First, I’m not sure the topic of dirt moving merits much additional discussion, but let me say unequivocally that very little dirt was moved to construct the course.    On one hole on the back nine, we brought down the side of a small hill in order to create sight lines to the green.  Don’t ask how many cubic feet or yards of dirt that was.  I’m no expert on dirt measurements, and, frankly, I’m not all that interested.   I know it wasn’t enough to cost us much money.  That did interest me.  Also, quite a few bunkers were added, and many others were shaped.  Many others were left exactly as they were found the first day we set foot on the land.  Other than that, no significant dirt was moved.  In particular, almost nothing was done to any of the green sites.  

We (the owners) were adamant on this issue, and Jack and Chris Cochran felt the exact same way.  I’ve been utterly amazed that some people who post on this site refuse to accept this as true.  I’m not sure it really matters all that much.  A great course is great, whether it was discovered or constructed.  But the truth is that Dismal River is an extremely natural layout.  Believe me, we couldn’t have done it any other way even if we wanted to.