News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Alister_Mackenzie

Appalling News From Ireland
« on: September 03, 1999, 08:00:00 PM »
A friend from overseas has just sent a clipping that the green committee at Lahinch has approved major changes to the course.The two goals of the project are said to be rekindling the "MacKenzie spirit", and improving safety.  But the plans include eliminating the present third hole, and the potential "solutions" for safety problems like the proximity of #10 and 13 greens and the blind tee shots make me shudder.The committee has been sold on this reconstruction plan by the esteemed Martin Hawtree.  His qualifications as a MacKenzie expert seem to consist of building a couple of new two-tiered greens at Royal Birkdale -- the very antithesis of Lahinch.As a professional architect I cannot contact the committee directly without major backlash, but it's frightening that they plan to proceed without having a second opinion from someone who values the course.  It may well be too late, and we'll have to hold our breath, but if anybody knows anybody there I think they should look into it at once.

Ran Morrissett

« Reply #1 on: September 03, 1999, 08:00:00 PM »
A friend was just there and got a similar story. Apparently they are going behind the 8th green into the wild dune country to carve out three to five more holes. Part of what they hope to do is to get rid of the flat-ish finishing holes.After playing Ballybunion Old with Greg Norman, my friend asked a committeeman at Lahinch, given that they already had the best course in Ireland, why were they making any changes at all? He didn't wait for the answer.The Irish eyes definitely aren't smiling now.

JohnV

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 1999, 08:00:00 PM »