News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Jim Nugent

Do carts but no cart paths harm/ruin courses?
« on: July 27, 2006, 01:42:03 AM »
When I started playing -- the 1960's -- I don't remember many cart paths.  The carts roamed far and wide, all over the courses I was on.  

Is that real bad for courses?  Does it ruin the turf, or create maintenance headaches/nightmares?  

Craig Sweet

Re:Do carts but no cart paths harm/ruin courses?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2006, 06:55:08 AM »
Compaction.

Compaction and turf health are incompatible....the solution is costly.
LOCK HIM UP!!!

Patrick_Mucci

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2006, 07:03:11 AM »
Jim,

Early cart use did little damage because carts were either restricted to golfers with a medical excuse, or, the club could only afford a limited number of them.

As their number increased, something became obvious.
That the shortest distance between point A and point B became a dirt path from cart usage.

Hence, cart paths were initially used to divert traffic away from the heaviest areas of play, usually around the greens and tees and certain architectural features.

As caddies became extinct, and carts flourished, traffic and the problems caused by traffic increased, as did the impact to the golf course.

Enter rain and wet conditions.

When carts were prohibited from going on the golf course due to poor conditions, golfers complained that they paid their initiation and dues to play golf, and since caddies weren't available, and since they weren't going to carry their own bag, pressure began to build with respect to accomodating carts.  In addition, as more and more clubs relied on outside outings to reduce financial pressures, the need for cart paths increased.

Hence, some clubs installed them to allow for play in inclement weather.

Clubs with robust caddy programs probably suffer far less in the way of damage to the golf course.