News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

TEPaul

Re:When is a tough walk worth it?
« Reply #25 on: December 23, 2004, 07:31:13 AM »
Pat:

Consider it bifurcated! It would help if you could teach us all how to post in blue and red print though. Taking on topography in  a playbility sense could be in blue print and long walks from green to next tee could be in red print! How's that for bifurcation?

paul cowley

« Reply #26 on: December 23, 2004, 08:00:53 AM »
Tom....as i have no knowledge of the course in point ,and if you have a blank topo of the site ,and could send it down....it would be fun for me to do a blind routing to contrast with the other two and make comparisons.

and yes , your flask works indoors as well  ;)
paul cowley...golf course architect/asgca

TEPaul

« Reply #27 on: December 23, 2004, 08:11:17 AM »
Paul:

Which course do you mean?

Mike_Sweeney

« Reply #28 on: December 23, 2004, 08:13:43 AM »
What are some of the enduringly respected courses out there that are tough walks and was there a better way to minimize that or are those tough uphill holes worth it?

Yale & Sand Hills are tougher walks for a second 18 holes in the heat of the summer. Yale for the uphill holes on the back and Sand Hills for the tee to fairway walks through the deep sand in spots. Fortunately, there are caddies at Sand Hills but I don't think I have ever seen a pull cart there. Yes, I have taken a cart at Sand Hills, but it was more for a final 9 holes at "Church" or to catch a full 18 in on the morning of the flight out.

wsmorrison

« Reply #29 on: December 23, 2004, 08:14:09 AM »
Tom,

CC York.  If Paul thinks you know how to attach files in an email, he must think your computer skills match your typing skills  ;)

Ted Kramer

« Reply #30 on: December 23, 2004, 08:18:37 AM »
Getting back more on topic, one of the toughest walks that is always worth it is Bethpage Black.