News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Dale_McCallon

Why your interest in GCA
« on: July 23, 2004, 03:53:36 PM »
I hope I don't get lambasted for straying from a topic....but what led you guys to your deep interest in GCA?

I am still trying to figure it out for myself.  I just know that for the longest time, anytime I would look through any type of golfing magazine, I would instantly look for course reviews, travel etc.  I personally couldn't care less about the latest "guaranteed to eliminate your slice" instruction.  By the way, has ANYONE ever used some of these drills on their own--I can't imagine going to a range and trying out some of these tips they recommend.

Back to the subject, I am a complete novice to the field--a definite high handicapper.  I can't tell you the routing and bunker configurations of every course that Ross built like some of you guys can, but it is something I enjoy learning about.

So what led you guys to your interest?  Was it instilled from parents?  Maybe your junior days caddying or working on a golf course?  Or are you guys like me?  You like playing different courses and are interested in knowing more about them and what makes some great, some good, and some just plain forgettable?

Andrew Summerell

Re:Why your interest in GCA
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2004, 07:37:59 PM »
To have something interesting to talk about so I would seem sexier to women.  ;D

Dustin Knight

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2004, 10:11:29 PM »

I have recently started playing on some world class Aussie
courses and really want to learn why they are classed as such,
as i have been guilty of "low marker syndrome" ( if the
condition was good i thought the course was good). Now some of my favourite tracks are only average in conditioning
but i respect their design, seems to have helped my game too!
I no longer get sucked in by as many Architects ;D ;D
Lost Farm........ WOW!

Dale_McCallon