News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Andy Silis

Claremont C.C.
« on: March 30, 2003, 06:59:21 AM »
I will be playing Claremont C.C. in Oakland on my upcoming trip to the Bay Area. Any info regarding this course, architecture, history etc. would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »

David_Tepper

Re: Claremont C.C.
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2003, 08:04:01 AM »
I am not an expert on Claremont, but here are a few things I do know:
1) Alister Mackenzie design, but course had major rennovation work on greens & bunkers about 15 years ago. I do not know who did the work or how faithful it is to the original design.
2) Course is very compact, par 68, with several fairways that cross over each other on the front-9.
3) Course has two par-3s (#2 & #13) that play 200+ yards.
4) Sam Snead won the Oakland Open on the course.
I have not played the course in many years, but I remember it as a very charming place.

Tom_Doak

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2003, 09:23:38 AM »
We are now doing a bit of work to the course, in fact Jim Urbina is starting there on Tuesday.

The course is a wild layout with a couple of crossovers, squeezed onto a very tight property (less than 100 acres).  The crossovers actually preceded MacKenzie's work; he just made modifications to the bunkers and the greens.

One of the greens that was done fifteen years ago (the seventh) didn't fit in at all, and we rebuilt it for them last year.  This time we are out to soften a couple of greens (11th and 12th) which have about six percent tilt to them, and are just unplayable today.  The par-four eleventh is undoubtedly one of the best holes, an uphill second shot into a punchbowl setting created by quarrying into a rocky hillside.