News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Neil Johnston

New member intro
« on: June 23, 2013, 10:37:22 PM »
Hi all

My name is Neil Johnston and I have recently joined the forum. I became aware of GCA through my participation in this year's Hundred Hole Hike in Chicago, at Flossmoor CC. Many of Flossmoor's holes are burned into my brain after playing it nearly 6 times in 1 day, but in a good way. Other favorites on the Chicago public scene (which I frequent far more often) are Prairie Landing, Pine Meadow and Ravisloe. My favorite career course is Pacific Dunes.

I have been playing golf regularly for 8-9 years and look forward to fine-tuning my eye for architecture nuances and expanding my golf network, in Chicago and elsewhere.

Cheers,

Neil

Brian Colbert

Re: New member intro
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2013, 11:04:48 PM »
Welcome to the party from another Chicagoan.

What are your favorite 5 courses in Chicago?

Terry Lavin

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2013, 08:09:37 AM »
Welcome aboard, Neil.

I would also like the record to reflect that I beat Pat Craig to a new member thread. That ain't easy to do, Bunky!   :D
Nobody ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American people.  H.L. Mencken

PCCraig

« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2013, 09:35:01 AM »
Welcome Neil!

Congrats Terry... :)
H.P.S.

Neil Johnston

« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2013, 10:46:44 AM »
Besides those mentioned above, I like the risk-reward nature of Orchard Valley and also Thunderhawk. On the value end of the spectrum, I play the most often at Schaumburg GC, which is a great muni with some fun holes.

Playing Highlands of Elgin this week for the first time; that seems to be thought highly of around here.

Brian - where in Chicagoland do you live?

Jeff Doerr

« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2013, 10:52:58 AM »
Welcome!

Phenom job on the HHH.
"And so," (concluded the Oldest Member), "you see that golf can be of