News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Andy Troeger

Re:Is 'Fun' Compatible with 'Hard'
« Reply #25 on: February 04, 2008, 09:46:04 PM »
Wolf Run is a perfect example of a course that could easily be described as too hard, yet others find it fun. I have found that most of the time I find a course is too hard, I have played it without the benefit of a member/local/caddy who knows the course. My first tour of Wolf was without any of the above and I made many mistakes as to appropriate lines and distances to hazards, etc. When I went back and played with a member, I "found" an entirely different course. It's still hard, but a lot more fun the second time around.

Greg,
I'm no expert on the course having played 36 holes in one day there but by all accounts they have softened things from what it once was in terms of rough length and such things. I also had the benefit of playing with three members who knew the course VERY well which made a big impact. The course won round one but I gave it a pretty go the second time around. I enjoyed both rounds though.

TEPaul

« Reply #26 on: February 04, 2008, 10:07:33 PM »
It depends how it's hard for me to have fun.

I don't think a course that's hard simply because it's just long, long, long is fun but if a course isn't just that and it's hard and dangerous to score on I think it can be a lot of fun.

I think Oakmont is fun, and I think Merion East and Pine Valley and Shinnecock are fun and they're all hard but they aren't a million miles long throughout either.

But I can get even more specific than that. If a golf course no matter how hard it is doesn't have at least 2 or 3 par 4s under about 375 yards I really don't think I'd like to play it much.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2008, 10:14:06 PM by TEPaul »

Adam Clayman

« Reply #27 on: February 05, 2008, 12:06:44 AM »