News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Matthew Mollica

TWP as a GCA Featured Interview ??
« on: December 22, 2002, 08:23:18 PM »

Good morning everyone.

I’m relatively new to the GCA site, and have taken great delight in recent months, in scrolling back through the past pages / discussions on courses, and all the other golf issues.

With specific reference to other members here in Melbourne, Australia, it has been great to read all of your comments on Moonah Links, TWP, Ranfurlie, the Open / green speeds at Vic, and loads of other topics.

With regard to TWP specifically, the general sentiment among many seems to be fairly critical, with particular focus being their recently designed courses, especially those on the Mornington Peninsula.

As a member at The National, I’m familiar with many of the arguments, and of the short-comings of The National Ocean course.  I’ve recently been to Moonah Links, in part just to play, but also to see what everyone is talking about.  It’s hard to make an informed comment when not having played a course at least once....

Personally, I’d be very interested to see Peter Thomson, Mike Wolveridge or Ross Perrett (Thommo in particular), as a featured interview here on GCA.  Seeing many of us have been vocal, following recent play on a number of their courses, I feel it would be an interesting exercise to see what they have to say, what makes them tick, what courses inspire them, what they have to say of some of their work, and so on.

What do others think about Thomson, Woolveridge and / or Perrett as a feature interview here on GCA ?

Matthew
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 PM by 1056376800 »