News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Lou_Duran

Suggestions on ridding a golf course of armadillos
« on: January 20, 2020, 05:53:00 PM »
According to a member of the grounds staff at my home club, the normal spraying for grubs was missed this past year.  Consequently, the course is being savaged by armadillos most every night.  I've been playing golf in Texas widely since 1978 and the amount of damage to the course is exponentially higher than anything I have ever seen (only once have I witnessed something worse, but it was done by wild hogs and limited to an acre or so).

Our superintendent sprayed something shortly after the damage started, but apparently the little bastards liked the stuff because they have kept at it for months with no rest.  Maintenance is not doing anything in response other than mowing over the damage, perhaps waiting for the food source to be depleted.  Any good suggestions?  Might this be nature's way of aerating the fairways?

JMEvensky

Re: Suggestions on ridding a golf course of armadillos
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2020, 08:25:27 PM »
Organize a Gary P. Nunn concert at a course down the road?

Mike Hendren

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2020, 08:33:55 PM »
Lou, I assume you speak of possums on the half shell. If so I can quickly assemble an eradication dream team. My squad gigs frogs as well.

T for Texas. T for Tennessee.

Bogey
Two Corinthians walk into a bar ....

Marty Bonnar

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2020, 08:20:52 AM »
Lou.
Build a wall. A wall around the entire course. A great wall. A fantastic wall. The best wall that’s ever been built.
F.
The White River runs dark through the heart of the Town,
Washed the people coal-black from the hole in the ground.

Jeff Loh

« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2020, 10:07:38 AM »
Marty
Funniest. Post. Ever!!

MCirba

« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2020, 11:19:29 AM »
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 12:39:51 PM by MCirba »